Therapeutic activities to try when feeling down.


On television someone told her viewers to throw out non-essential numbers including age, weight and height. She added; “Keep only your cheerful friends as grouches will pull you down.

I read that it is the simple things that count, so, I ran out to buy a large, white chocolate.

From all sides I heard and read, ‘laugh often, laugh loudly. Feel alive while you are alive.

I read that when tears come, I must endure my grief, then move on.

People told me to cherish my health, preserve it and if it’s unstable,  find ways to improve it. Someone added; “If you are unable to do this on your own, seek help.”

I knew that it was important to tell all the people I loved how much I loved them, at every opportunity.

I attended a lecture. There, I was told not to be afraid of failure. The lecturer said; ‘We’ve failed many times even though we might have forgotten. The first time you tried to walk, you probably fell down. You might have felt that you were drowning when you tried to swim for the first time. Or maybe you messed up when you tried to swipe a ball with a bat for the first time.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

