A psychiatrist.


Unfortunately, we landed up in more than one psychiatric hospital in our desperate search for some kind of help. My son needed peace of mind, and we were prepared to do anything we could to help. We met all kinds of psychiatrists. Some were extremely dedicated, others less so; some empathetic, others not .One of them really shocked me. I stared at him when he walked into the ward. From his beautifully crafted boots, to his perfectly fitted designer jeans, he looked more like a horse’s dream of a rider than a psychiatrist.

He was the one who told me not to bring leather offcuts for my son and the other patients to use during occupational therapy and added; “It’s a socio-economic thing with you.” But, he failed to ask where I was getting the offcuts from. I actually discovered a leather factory off Herzl Street in Tel Aviv and was told that they threw  their offcuts into a barrel outside at the end of every working day, where it waited for the garbage collection truck to take it. I picked out the best pieces which were good for belts and other handiwork projects!

.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

