Too upset to mourn the death of my friend’s Siamese Cat.


My friend felt that I was being heartless because I showed no sorrow over the loss of her cat. But, I was too upset and preoccupied with my son’s illness.

  • I was born a long, long time ago and actually survived being born to a mother who had asbestos in her house.
  • Imagine being born to a mother who had never even been tested for AIDS, diabetes nor cervical cancer.
  • My baby crib was painted with lead-based paint.
  • There were no childproof lids on medicine bottles.
  • We rode bikes barefoot and without helmets.
  • Take away food was limited to fish and chips wrapped in brown paper.
  • In our parens’ car there there were neither seatbelts nor airbags.
  • I drank water from our garden hosepipe.
  • Stores closed at 6 p.m. and remained closed over weekends and amazing as it sounds, we did not starve.
  • We ate cake, white bread, candy and as much chocolate as we wanted, yet we were  not overweight because we played out of doors.
  • I had no television, play station, Nintendo, computer nor television. But, I had lots of friends and we improvised games to play.
  • There were trials for soccer teams and tennis teams and we did not all make it. So, we learned to deal with disappointment. Getting chosen was based on our merit and our merit alone. Not due to parental threats to the coach.
  • My generation has produced some of the best risk-takers, problem solvers and inventors that ever lived. Over the past 70 years, there has been an explosion of innovation and new ideas

 

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

