Humor really can be infectious


Humor is infectious. The sound of laughter is far more contagious than a sneeze or a cough. Laughter shared, binds people together and triggers healthy physical changes in our bodies.

At a support group for parents of mentally ill children, a laughter therapist told me that it is a powerful antidote to stress and pain as it brings one’s mind back into balance.

My late husband was far better at this than I was. By using humor in relationships, it allowed him to be more spontaneous. When I managed it, it allowed me to release inhibitions and express my true feelings. It took me so  far away from thoughts of my son’s mental illness that at times, I found myself counting some of my blessings. It helped me keep things in perspective.

Before I was introduced to laughter, I let life’s challenges get the best of me. It became hard for me to think of anything besides our health problems at home, but, we managed to turn it around at some stage and transform it into an opportunity for creative learning and one to help other people in need.

I didn’t choose for our son to develip paranoid schizophrenia but, once the problem was there, laughter became a way of dealing with it at home.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

