There is a deafening silence


 

If you are going through hell; keep going ! by Winston Churchill

 

Why do so few people fail to speak freely about the fact that there is mental illness in their families?

 

Why don’t people know how to behave where mental illness is concerned?

 

Why is there a deafening silence where mental illness is concerned?

 

I felt as if I were drowning in mental illness. That’s what we spoke about, thought about, read up about and even wrote about.

 

Keeping very busy helped me and there were times when I gulped down my food  vacuum cleaner style.

 

Do you know how difficult it is to have a mentally ill person at home and still find time to give to the other children?

 

My son’s schizophrenia held me in its grip day and night for 16 years. I tell my story as a way of loosening the noose that held me captive for so long.

 

I tell my story in the hope that other mothers will speak out and by doing so, help to reduce the stigma associated with mental illness.

 

I tell my story to show mental health consumers that I understand them and want to help speed their acceptance into the community.

 

I tell my story in the hope that politicians will take up the subject of stigma, even though they obviously feel that it won’t do anything for their political careers?

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

