I had so much to live for, so much left yet to do. But, it was impossible with all those voices, always coming through!


After David died, we found a notebook with poems he’d written; but, some time later, I found the following note that he had  folded and left for us to find.

When tomorrow starts without me and I’m not there to see, how the sun will rise and find your eyes all  filled with tears for me.

I wish so much you wouldn’t cry the way you did today, while thinking of the many things, we didn’t get to say.

I know how much you love me, as much as I love you. And each time that you thnk of me, I know yoou’ll miss me too.

I had a lot to live for, so much left to do. But it was impossible to concentrate with those voices coming through.

If I could relive yesterday, even for a while,

I’d say goodbye to all of you and maybe see a smile.

So, when tomorrow starts without me, don’t think we’re far apart, for every time you think of me, I’ll be right here in your hearts.

David would have appreciated the following quote:

I don’t want to become immortal through my work. I want to become immortable by not dying – Woody Allen

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

