‘Three Wishes” written by Elaine Benton


I quote from a blog written by Elaine Benton, author of
Parkinson’s, Shaken, not Stirred  www.elainebenton.net

When my daughter was very young, someone asked her; “If you had three wishes, what would they be?”

The answer was typical of any child that age and I believe it went something along the lines of: “going to Disneyland, getting a puppy and living in a big house with a swimming pool.”

The person questioning her asked: “Wouldn’t you wish that your mummy didn’t have Gaucher disease?” to which my daughter’s direct and straightforward answer without a moment’s hesitation was: “Mummy wouldn’t be the same mummy without Gaucher.” This statement, so honest and simple from a child’s perspective, made me think.

My daughter had never known anything else – I had been ill since whe was born. Just as some mothers have blonde hair or work from 9 -5 in an office, I have Gaucher disease. It’s as simple as that. There was never a question or thought in her mind of wanting or wishing for a different mother. gaucher doesn’t define who i am, but without doubt, it is part of my life What defines me is who I am and what I do.

Despite having Gaucher and Parkinsons, I continue to live my life to the full, and do my utmost to bring greater awareness of these two diseases, whilst helping and offering support to others wherever I can.

If there is a fairy godmother out there who is reading my blog – please grant me not three wishes, but one.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

