TALKING ABOUT A PROBLEM HAS THE POWER TO CHANGE ATTITUDES AND MINDS


 

WHERE THERE IS SILENCE, THERE IS STIGMA

Each one of us has the power to break the silence of stigma.

.

If we don’t talk out about a problem, we are less able o change atitudes and minds. There are people who have asked me why I talk so much about my son’s schizophrenia. I do so because it has helped so many out there with the same problem.  If someone knows that they can write to me or meet me and talk openly about anything to do with mental illness, it lightens their load. They can talk frankly to me or ask me any question and I will do my best to reply. They know instinctively that it will not go any further either. I cannot help their child, but I can give them some of the coping tips that helped me.

 As Winston Churchill once said : Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.

 Defeat is not the worse failure. Never to have tried is the real failure in life.

I have often failed in something I have tried to do but at least I know that I have done my best.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

