As one person, I cannot change the world, but, I can change the world of one person


As one person, I cannot change the world, but I can change the world of one person  by Paul Shane Spear

LEARNING ABOUT OUR ENEMY

ANGER

I was so angry. My son had a brain disorder and my anger was destroying me and probably adding stress to an already stressful situation. What could I do? What would help him recover? When I was terribly frustrated and very angry, I went out into the garden, took a large spade that was far too heavy for me to handle under normal circumstances, and I dug and dug and dug. I  only stopped when I was exhausted. Whenver I spoke in anger to my son, I was so sorry afterwards, so the above activity really helped me gain control again.

  •  How does one accept a diagnosis of schizophrenia?
  •  How does one accept the diagnosis of any mental illness for that matter?

Not easy. To me it meant accepting the fact that society is fearful of people with a mental illness. I also had to understand and accept the fact that  there was a stigma attached to it. To me it meant the end of my dreams of seeing my son study for a profession of his choice. To me, it meant the end of my dream to see him married with children. Actually, it meant the end of all my hopes and dreams for him.

It took a long, long time for me to understand that the very psychiatrists who treated him, omitted to give him even a grain of hope. Without hope, I doubt whether anyone can live.

 HUMOR

 I was so busy taking care of my son and searching for the miracle cure, that I seldom felt happy. My husband had a sense of humor and found humor in most situations, but I did not. I used to be a happy  person, but had almost forgotten how to laugh. However, we managed to take a few short breaks away together when our daughters offered to stand in for us and visit their brother daily.

 LEARNING ABOUT THE ENEMY.

If I know what I am against, I am able to continue with my life. So, I read up whatever I could and learned all I could about schizophrenia, mainly from the internet, although my knowledge of computers was very limited in those days.

What helped me the most? Having a supportive husband and children and probably, the will to get on with my life.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

