My son had traveled the backbone of the world in his imagination …


My son had traveled the backbone of the world in his imagination

 

Over the years, my son, even during times of psychosis, had taken his passport and bought tickets to various destinations in the world, informing us at the last moment that he was not up to flying and leaving me with the tickets to deal with. Occasionally, I’d received a refund, more often than not, a partial return or nothing at all.

My son had traveled the backbone of the world in his imagination, assuring us that away from home things would be different for him.

 

Eventually he decided to visit South Africa. Destination, family in Johannesburg and Cape Town. I was amazed at the amount of medication that my husband had managed to obtain as well as post-dated prescriptions and even more surprised that he trusted David with it all.

 

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “My son had traveled the backbone of the world in his imagination …

  1. Elaine Benton

    I think you are incredible, and do such valuable work, that most couldn’t even summon up the emotional courage to think about, let alone actually achieve. I can’t even begin to imagine how incredibly difficult it must have been for you to write your story. Your book is so very important bringing comfort and support not to mention creating greater awareness about a subject most shy away from. However painful it must have been writing your story, re-living awful moments you have survived, be rest assured, the help and guidance it will give those painfully walking the same path you endured – I have no doubt in my mind, that David would be so proud of your efforts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

