BREAKING THE DEAFENING SILENCE


BREAKING THE DEAFENING SILENCE

People feel that the subject of mental illness is more out in the open than in previous years.  If that is so, why did I receive over 200 phone calls after local newspapers carried the news that I had received honors in the Knesset for my volunteering work in the field of mental illness?

Why did each caller speak for so long and then thank me so profusely for listening?

Because they had the need to talk. They needed to feel that the person on the other side of the telephone line, or sitting opposite them was really listening… and I did.

 Each caller congratulated me for speaking out, but most of them made sure that I would not call them at work if they were not alone.

Mental health professionals are busy people who hear similar stories daily from heartbroken parents; some who get to the point, and some who waffle without even stopping to breathe! So I understand that they cannot give each person the time they need. So, what is the solution?

The parents I spoke to also needed some hope. I have said this before and it is worthy of repetition. No one can live without an iota of hope: hope of a better life: hope that the next course of pills they take will change the way they feel.

Although my son did not make it, I was able to ell them about the coping techniques we used. But details of the long, hard road we traveled, is in my new book, DAVID’S STORY.

 

 

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “BREAKING THE DEAFENING SILENCE

  1. Elaine Benton

    I highly recommend reading your book, in particular if you have someone in the family or a friend who suffers from mental health. Reading your book Jill, gave me an insight into a subject matter I must confess I knew little about. We all could do with more education on mental health, and to understand better, which ultimately will remove the unhealthy and damaging stigma that appears to be associated with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

