EVER HEARD OF A CREEPING CHRISTIAN ?


 

EVER HEARD OF A CREEPING CHRISTIAN?

 I was newly married in Bloemfontein, South Africa, and working as a teacher. A non-Jewish friend came to visit and while admiring the plants on my porch, she was particularly interested in a hanging plant with deep almost purple leaves.

 Her wedding day was approaching and we discussed weddings and brides for a while. Then she asked whether she could visit again after she and her future husband are settled in their new apartment because she wanted a slip of the plant she’s been admiring. I told her that I would pot one for her and pointed out that while it is commonly known as a Wandering Jew, its scientific name is Zebrina Pendula.

 When the newly married couple returned from their honeymoon, she visited and we had a great deal to talk about. She wanted to make a garden like ours on their porch and asked; “Did you remember to pot the Creeping Christian for me?”

When I was done laughing, I handed her a plant pot with a healthy looking plant in it and said; “Here’s your Wandering Jew, my friend.”

 

                       

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

