My recovery could only begin when I gave my son an unconditional pardon for taking my son away from me. I believe that the time is now.


FAREWELL TO DAVID

The young innocent child playing with his toys

Gives his parents countless joys.

An energetic youth, full of charm.

Who would think he’d come to harm?

Noone knows as he grows what his future will be … what about his tranquility?

 

All at once his world is shattered. He has the feeling of being battered.

Unseen demons chasing him, causing strife, making life grim.

This is hard for him to bear. Our brave youth sheds no tear but comtemplates this world to leave,

Not considering how much will grieve dear family, friends, who truly care

And grief and sorrow will always share

 

For him to leave is to find eternal peace, which some say is truly a release.

“Did he need to suffer so we all sigh and think of happier times gone by.

Memories a-plenty with you we’ll share. Remember, friends are there to care.

Never doubt, you did you best. Thank God, your son is now at rest.

Fondest love,

Iris Amdur.

My dear friend Iris, is no longer with us. May she rest in peace.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “My recovery could only begin when I gave my son an unconditional pardon for taking my son away from me. I believe that the time is now.

  1. Elaine Benton

    What a beautiful poignant poem, written with such heartfelt words – there is little one can say – sometimes a few words have a strong impact, and occasionally silence can also speak volumes. I am a writer and am never short of what to say, however, this morning, after reading this poem, I fell silent. You are in my thoughts Jill.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

