She swam in the pool every morning until the age of 91 …


 

I believe that there are as many people with Alzheimer’s as with Cancer and according to statistics, the numbers will double themselves within a generation, so surely a fortune should be spent on finding the miracle cure? I was the spouse and I suffered as much as or even more than my husband. According to newspaper headlines around the world, I was sure that a fortune was being spent on research until the bubble burst when I discovered that money spent on research for Alzheimer’s is only about three per cent of the money going toward finding cures for all kinds of cancer. That was when I nearly went to pieces. I had similar experiences with Schizophrenia and then with Alzheimer’s. Imagine having both those problems in the same family?

 I thought back to the generation before ours. My mother died at  the age of 92. My husband’s mother died of old age. My father died at the age of 88 of old age. My father-in-law died when he was 80, after suffering from Parkinson’s for a long period of time. So, my mother was one of the lucky ones … she swam every morning in her black Jansen’s bathing suit which was so very outdated, that it prompted me to send a snapshot of my Mom in her pool outfit and suggest they use it for an advertisement. Their reply: “Thanks, your Mom looks wonderful, but if our bathing suits last for 45 to 50 years, we will be out of business very soon.” But, it was worth trying, now wasn’t it? She went walking daily, never took a single sleeping pill nor any other pill for that matter and died of a heart attack at the age of 92.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “She swam in the pool every morning until the age of 91 …

  1. Elaine Benton

    Your mother was very much blessed to live until 92 with quality of life, good health and not forgetting her Jansen’s swimming suit. We should all be so lucky!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

