True love is an acceptance of all that is, has been, will be, or may never be …


 

True love is an acceptance of all that is, has been, will be, or may never be … and every evening we danced to music from the 60’s. I wanted to regain the closeness that dancing brings with it and I saw a spark in his eyes when I chose our favorite; I just called to say I love  you.

Aware of my husband’s slow decline, I expected him to slip into a depression, but, he did not. He continued to make the most of adversity the way he has always done. I picked up his cue and we decided to take each day as it came, bearing in mind his favorite quote that I have used and will continue to use:

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

He continued to play bridge whenever he found a foursome and his bridge friends told me that he played a fairly good game. I hovered, watching him lose his short-term memory while noticing that his long-term memory was becoming quirky, with some images so out of focus that he could not pull them together. It seemed as if his life had become like a puzzle. It was as if someone had taken it apart when he wasn’t looking yet he had no idea of how to join the pieces together again.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “True love is an acceptance of all that is, has been, will be, or may never be …

  1. Elaine Benton

    Reading your blog today, I can see that you and your husband were lucky to have shared a deep and wonderful love. Not everyone is lucky to find such a partner in life. I am sure you treasure the wonderful memories you made together, and know he must have been a remarkable man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

