When talking to someone with dementia. Never argue; agree. Never try to reason: distract…


 

 

When talking to someone with any kind of dementia

  • Never argue: agree.
  • Never try to reason: distract.
  • Never shame: change the subject. No one is perfect.
  • Never lecture: reassure
  • Try not to say: ‘Do you remember?’ Reminisce rather.

 I was one of the fortunate women who was blessed with a special relationship my husband, who remained my best friend; a man full of love and quiet wisdom who accompanied and supported me through the ups and downs of our lives. I am trying to move on.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “When talking to someone with dementia. Never argue; agree. Never try to reason: distract…

  1. Elaine Benton

    A very experienced and wise social worker gave me these tips when my mother was diagnosed with dementia. I stuck to her valued advice, although at times it took much emotional work and patience – but if you love someone, you want to do all you can.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

