I was living with a man in absentia …


His wife says:

The man who taught me everything

Is here but not the same

He’s disappearing before my eyes

It’s a cruel, sadistic shame.

 

He taught me many things

He took good care of me

Now I take care of him.

How could this come to be?

 

I console him when he’s very down

Distract him with a ploy

And every exhausting moment

Is filled with bittersweet joy.

 

My friend is here but also gone

At times he is aware

Which always catches me by surprise

That he’s behind his unnerving stare.

 

I try to find the humor

In some unfunny stuff

If I don’t laugh I will crumble

Thank goodness that I’m tough.

 

This man who made our house a home

Forgets many  things and places

He’s frightened and ill at ease a lot

And soon won’t know our faces.

Our daughters say: 

Our mother’s amazing

The love she has for dad’s so true

Losing him like this just breaks her heart

She meant it when she said; ‘I do.’

 

 Mom shows us every single day

What unconditional love is about

Alzheimer’s is robbing us of our dad

Which makes us scream and shout.

 

This man who taught us to walk and talk

Will soon not know one from the other.

Because of this awful disease. He’s the child and we’re the mothers.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

