I discovered that the human brain only weighs 3 pounds …


In order to determine whether a person is suffering from Alzheimer’s disease, they are given what seemed to be a simple test. My husband was given instructions and asked to follow them:

  • To identify the day, the date and the time.
  • He was asked a few general knowledge questions like; who is the president of the United States?
  • He was asked to pick up various objects in the room and move them to other specified places.
  • The social worker asked him to repeat a few sentences that she enunciated slowly and clearly; in the same order.
  • He was asked to draw a clock.

I was given few ideas of how to cope with the situation. She told me to be sure to take my husband for regular medical check ups  and then, I was on my own. Someone else suggested that I read a book called the 39 Hour Day, which I bought, but was not sure whether I wanted to know what was waiting for us. I preferred to take each step as it came; each day as it arrived.

When I invited friends over, I made sure that there were two couples so that the men would continue their conversation even when my husband ran out of what to say. The children and I made sure that he joined us on family outings and celebrations. I tried to provide a peaceful, supportive, calm environment at home. He needed a whole lot of time in order to complete any task which needed patience and reassurance. I removed the only scatter rug we possessed and replaced it with a non-skid carpet.I discovered that disposable glasses were far too flimsy and always keeled over; hardy mugs were more practical.

The human brain, the organ that performs so many critical functions, only weighs 3 pounds; 1.36 kilograms – which amazed me. I keep going back to those weights and wonder how an organ this small, can carry out so many complicated tasks.

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “I discovered that the human brain only weighs 3 pounds …

  1. Elaine Benton

    It sounds like your husband was very lucky to be in such caring, understanding, patient loving hands. Taking one day at a time, is really all any of us can do in such circumstances. I love reading your blogs for they are a reflection of the amazing beautiful woman you are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

