While I still have my health, I intend to spend every day as if it were my last …


Caring for someone who had always cared for me, was difficult to accept. A part of me was ripped apart as I watched the daily losses my husband suffered as he slowly slipped away from me. Alzheimer’s is a devastating disease but my family decided to celebrate every bit of life that we could, and gave my husband, their father lots of love and support.

There were days when I wanted to remove myself from the chaos in my husband’s mind because it was so painful to witness, but love kept me going.

I found it strange that the disease that is known for robbing memories, actually brought so many memories to mind. Memories of the years spent together flashed across my mind as I watched his deterioration.

There were days when we listened to opera, which sometimes sparked a memory of time gone by. When I felt worn out or sure I could not last another day; when the sadness became too much to bear; I thought of the good things that had occurred in our lives.

I replayed parts of the  movie, The Bucket List starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman which I loved. Well, I have taken a page out of their book and made my own Bucket List. My daughters are dying to know what I listed there but I only shared two items with them. I have always wanted to see Opera in a super-special setting and I did. .. Carmen. Item two on my list is planning a trip to faraway places and although it will take time, I am busy with that right now.

While I still have my health, I intend to live every day as if it were my last.

 

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “While I still have my health, I intend to spend every day as if it were my last …

Leave a Reply

