My wish is: To be as good as my dog thought I was …


My blogs have included mental illness, including schizophrenia and the blame, shame, stigma and discrimination associated with anyone who is different.

Alzheimer’s disease is one that also has its fair share of blame, shame, stigma and discrimination. I have written about subjects that most people do not touch on; certainly not in such a public forum. The reason? I think it is time that we all tried to make the lives of people more unfortunate than we are, more acceptable.

I am aware of the fact that in spite of the tragedies that occurred in my family, there are people all over the world far worse off than I am.

I drew up a list of things for which I can be thankful;

I have my own home and car. My health is good. I have five wonderful grandchildren and two caring daughters. Another blessing is my two caring sons-in-law as well as other relatives and good friends.

Boredom is not a word that I know the meaning of due to the voluntary work that I do in the field of mental health which includes assisting people with other handicaps as well. I write essays, stories and blogs, which take up a great deal of my time, I work in my small garden and spend as much time as I can with my grandchildren. I have just retired from my job as English Tutor so I now have the time to do whatever I choose to do; and maybe even to spoil myself a little.

MY WISH ?

To be as good as my dog thought I was.

As rich as my children think I am.

And as beautiful as my mother said I was.

 

 

This entry was posted in Alzheimer's, Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “My wish is: To be as good as my dog thought I was …

Leave a Reply

