The sink was piled high with dirty dishes: I looked at all the housework needing attention …


 

LIFE INTERRUPTED

After a restless night, I threw laundry into the washer and approached the kitchen sink to attend to a pile of dirty dishes. I looked around at all the housework needing attention and wondered how I would ever cope with everything as the practical side of life had gotten out of control since my husband passed away. I glanced at the headlines of the newspaper which were as depressing as always. Reading the paper would most definitely not cheer me up, so, I called a good friend and we decided to meet at a nearby coffee shop,. I was quite sure that the housework would still be there on my return.

A handsome man entered the coffee shop and sat down all alone at a window seat.. I could not help staring at him. He seemed different, somehow, and extremely good looking. After a while, he noticed my attention and walked directly toward me. Before I could apologize for being so rude, he leaned over and whispered. “I’ll do anything, absolutely anything you want me to do … for 50 bucks. But, there is one condition. Surprised, yet intrigued, I asked what the condition was.

His reply; “Tell me exactly what it is that you want me to do … but in three words only.”

I considered his proposition for a moment, then, very slowly, I removed a $50 bill from my purse, pressed it into his hand, looked deeply into his eyes barely managing to conceal my excitement and said; “ CLEAN MY HOUSE.”

This entry was posted in Grief and Grieving on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “The sink was piled high with dirty dishes: I looked at all the housework needing attention …

Leave a Reply

