He suffered a massive stroke …


 

LIFE INTERRUPTED

My husband died of a massive stroke. Anoxic brain damage was what the doctor said. A world which I had never before contemplated, opened before me.

The previous day, I had felt safe. Our children and grandchildren were well and happy and I was a working gandma, enjoying my English tutoring job.

From the moment that a policewoman came to my door to tell me to go to the hospital immediately, I knew that something terrible had occurred. I had to see my husband. When I saw him, it was to say goodbye. 

When the initial shock had worn off, the pain was so intense at times that I found it difficult to find a physical position that was comfortable. Actually, my worst enemy was fear and not only pain. At first, I battled to find air to breathe. Every thought and action reminded me of my loss.

After some time  had passed, I knew that I could no longer live the same way as previously. . I had to make it  larger, change it, make room for my grief and try and make a different life for myself, which is proving to be a difficult task.

This entry was posted in Grief and Grieving on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

One thought on “He suffered a massive stroke …

Leave a Reply

