Do couples with the happiest marriages adjust to the death of a loved one faster?


I read somewhere that people with the happiest marriages adjust to the death of a loved one faster than those who did not have that relationship; so I read on. ‘ Those with good marriages were usually well-adjusted people before they became widows or widowers and use the skills gained there to work for them during the readjustment period. On the other hand, the more difficulty one had with one’s emotional life before losing a loved one, the harder it will be to adjust after he/she dies.’

What helped me was to keep busy.  I got rid of things I didn’t really need, waged chemical warfare against any creepy crawlies in the house; I scrubbed my  life down to the bone then went into the garden where I dug and weeded until exhaustion left me unable to think of anything at all.

By the way, acceptance is not another word for forgetting !

This entry was posted in Grief and Grieving on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

