Stigma is an assignment of blame


Stigma is what it is because we allow it into our lives by the power that  we assign it. Stigma is an assignment of blame. Nobody can cause schizophrenia. Stigma is about disrespect, the negative use of labels, about discrimination and social exclusion.

The media victimize and even demonize people with a mental illness in a way that would be unacceptable, even illegal, if directed toward any other sector of our community.

I try to help other families cope with similar situations and to raise mental illness from the bottom of the political and social heap. I have spoken about mental illness wherever I have been invited to do so. My wish is that politicians will learn that shutting down psychiatric hospitals won’t eradicate mental illness. By writing and blogging, I fight to restore the integrity of psychiatric patients as I once vowed I would, as I once promised my late son that I would do.

Leave a Reply

