My bedside clock showed 2 a.m. and our house seemed to be vibrating ….


Engulfed by an overwhelming fatigue, I fell into a soporific sleep. Something woke me. I lifted my head groggily and glanced at my bedside clock. It was 2 a.m. The whole house seemed to be vibrating. A storm perhaps? A volcano? No, no, it was loud music. My stomach knotted and I fumbled my way downstairs to find my son swaying to the music with an imaginary partner to Pink Floyd’s Fearless.The volume was on high and in spite of the cold weather, my son’s feet were bare and moved imperceptibly on the stone floor. His lips were moving too. I approached the diskplayer in order to turn down the volume but he placed himself in front of it daring me to stop the music. I wasn’t sure what to do. Fortunately my husband came downstairs and turned it off. Problem solved. My son looked at him in a strange way, then lay down in the middle of the room, shut his eyes, and fell asleep.

Wearily, we returned to bed, but, not to sleep. I knew that sleep would evade me for a long time. This was just one incident in a long line …

One thought on “My bedside clock showed 2 a.m. and our house seemed to be vibrating ….

  1. Elaine Benton

    The daily pressures that you underwent are unimaginable. No one except those who have walked in your shoes can fully understand the extent to which you all must have suffered. Before I read your book and now your daily blogs, I have to admit, I knew little about schizophrenia. You are bringing greater awareness of this torturous disease to a world wide audience, and I commend you for all the time and energy you selflessly give.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

