HE DROVE THE SAME CAR FOR 82 YEARS


car 82 years SERENADE  2 SENIORS

This man owned and drove the same car for 82 years. Mr. Allen Swift of Springfield, MA received this brand new 1928 Rolls-Royce Piccadilly-kP1 Roadster from his father as a graduation gift in 1928 and he drove it up until his death at the age of 102. He was the oldest living car owner with a car that had been purchased new. It was donated to a Springfield Museum after his death.

It has 1,070,000 miles on it, runs like a Swiss watch, dead silent at any speed and is in perfect cosmetic condition which is approximately 13,048 miles per year i.e. 1,087 per month.

AND MY CHILDREN THINK THAT MY FIVE – YEAR – OLD CAR IS OLD ??????

 This is the third car story that I have told in a short while. No, I am not one of those people who love cars. The only criteria a car needs in my opinion is … when I put the key into the ignition, I expect to hear the sound of the engine and as long as the car drives, I am happy.  I simply find the above story rather amazing. I wonder how many cars today would last for even half that long!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment