Stay safe and take care of yourself and your family


I know that I will always remember the words of the people I hold in high esteem. When I was a young girl and heard scary stuff on the radio, especially the news about impending war, my mother said; ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are prepared to help.’ To this day, especially in times of disaster, I remember my mother’s words and am comforted when I realize that there are still many caring people around me.

It’s a very good idea to commit random acts of kindness to make life easier for the people we know and care about, and perhaps even more important for those  we don’t know.

 If someone is directly affected by a tragedy, I think that most of us do what we can to help. We might extend a helping hand to those who are more vulnerable than we are. There are many people out there willing to share their stories. It will be healing for them. It’s also healing for us.

Most of the people that I know are kind, compassionate and big-hearted. They are considerate, generous, loving and sympathetic. But, there are those who can be cruel, brutal, cold and mean. We deal with them when we have to do so but we should not let them corrupt us.

Most of us don’t feel resilient and may view ourselves as nervous; unable to deal with storm clouds and life when it goes wrong. Who doesn’t want to feel safe? Why shouldn’t we feel that way? But, we must recognize that life is fragile and that when tragedy strikes we can either become victims or survivors and, I believe that the latter is preferable. In time, we resolve to do what we can to make ourselves and our little corner of the world a better place. We rejoice in the wonder of life and feel blessed to be a part of it, no matter how difficult it is when bad things happen.

Leave a Reply

