Molehills into Mountains


mountain and molehill 1

MOLEHILLS INTO MOUNTAINS

Whenever I worried excessively, I realized that anxiety caused my  mind to fret over a particular problem forcing me to think more about the issue than about finding a solution for it. And as a result, the problem took on gigantic proportions. So, when my thoughts tended to run wild, I blew everything up, losing track of reality and resultantly turned a small molehill into a huge mountain. I assumed the worst, jumped to conclusions, and was unable to think clearly.

During stressful times, when my mind was in what I now call panic mode,  I was prone to catastrophizing and I felt as if I were having a panic attack, even though I was not quite sure what that meant. My mind seemed to be convinced that a panic attack would have terrible results. After all, what did I know in those days? Today, I look on the bright side, find the half full glass and believe with everything in me that things will be alright.

One thought on “Molehills into Mountains

  1. Jenn zeffman joint coordinator Harrow Rethink Mental Illness

    After a difficult weekend i found this blog very helpful , occasionally we need reminding how to survive in difficult situations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

