Doctor, do you know what it’s like to have a child that’s different?


Doctor, have you ever stopped to think what it must be like to have a child that is different from other children?

If I had been a blogger while my son were so ill, I might have sent you a link to my website which might even have helped you and your colleagues understand what was going on in our home then. The first time I came across a blog about mental illness in a family, I followed it religiously even though it was written by a mother I had never heard of nor met. There were days when her posts were difficult to read, but they were always helpful and thought provoking. That was when I realized that I was not alone. I understood for the first time how my readers could connect with me,  a total stranger simply because I was sharing a life experience that may or may not have anything to do with theirs.

I found myself changing. That blog became my life support as well as giving me a feeling of understanding, perspective and a whole lot to think about even though this was  difficult to handle. The mother whose blog I followed, knew that there was no cure for mental illness but she taught me to look on the bright side of life, to find new and interesting activities as well as a love of music. She made me aware of the fact that things do not always happen for a reason and that one does not always get what one deserves in life. Outwardly, I led an ordinary life. I tutored English, tried to give my other children the attention they deserved, and at night, discussed our son’s problem with my husband, searching for a way to help him, to help us all, a way out. I attended a creative writing group that has been my savior but a lot of the time I spent poring through information on the internet searching for a cure, a miracle cure, and then, any cure.

My blog remains the place where I can be free to write and tell my story to those who want to hear it and share my experiences the way that blogger shared her story with me.

Maybe it’s due to the stigma, but most of the comments on my blog arrive via email instead of on the blog entry, which is a pity. However, that will not stop me from blogging.

One thought on “Doctor, do you know what it’s like to have a child that’s different?

Leave a Reply

