He felt as if he were drowning


 

swimming pool

During my final year at high school, I did a life-saving course and became a fully-fledged life-saver. The reason I was keen to do the course was because when I was younger, I saw a young child who did not know how to swim, struggling in a crowded swimming pool. I remember

jumping into the pool, gathering him up in my arms and asking someone else to call the life-saver immediately. All the while I wondered how strange it was that nobody else had noticed this child’s distress. The picture of this little boy struggling remained with me for many years to come.

I was reminded of this scene over and over again while my son was struggling with paranoid schizophrenia because not only was he drowning in this illness; we all were. Amongst other things, I realized that friends and acquaintances perceived him as a negative and unwanted person and chose to stay away from him. He was ill.  He felt as if he were drowning. He was depressed and most insecure as all he wanted was to be well and to be accepted by his friends and family.

This entry was posted in Schizophrenia on by .

About Jill

Author of books and articles on support and experiences of living with a mentally ill family member. My aim in blogging is to let others see how a loving family, with a father and husband who is able to give unconditional love, can help the family cope. Many call me the blogging grandma.'

Leave a Reply

