To drive, or not to drive, that is the question


red mazda

Our son’s reflexes were slos due to the medication he was taking, so the thought of him sitting behind the wheel was disturbing, to say the very least. During my next appointment with his psychiatrist, I asked his opinion on this sensitive subject and his reply surprised me. ‘It’s up to you and your husband to take that decision,’ he stated.

‘B … but, the medication isn’t it? Doesn’t it? I mean. Is he sufficiently alert?’

“Each case is different. Many people drive while on medication, you know. It depends. Besides, we haven’t informed the traffic authorities.’

‘Why not?’

‘Because your son might never pass a driving test again.’

‘But, how can we take such an onerous decision We aren’t trained professionals, you know?’

‘I’m sorry, but I cannot be of any help to you on this point,’ he said, ending our session and I never got to ask him the other questions I had listed.’ I drove home and found the following; Statistics show that psychiatric patients cause fewer traffic accidents than ‘normal’ people. Now this came as a surprise to me. First, it prompted me to look up NORMAL in the Random House College Dictionary; normal: conforming to the standard or common type, not abnormal, regular, natural. Not much help there. Even though we’d read that psychiatric patients cause fewer traffic accidents than so-called normal people, we decided to forgo statistics because I was unable to live in peace knowing that my son was driving in his present condition. My husband agreed and that problem was shelved for a short while. A few months later our son’s new psychiatrist told him that he could drive!

2 thoughts on “To drive, or not to drive, that is the question

  1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    Jill – Another excellent posting and a continued reminder that no one wants to be ‘on the line’ when it comes to making lifestyle decisions for those we love so much. Tom has always been good when I’ve told him he couldn’t drive at any given time [and there’s been a log of them]. I read each insert that comes with Tom’s medications. Each time we see one of his physicians I take them a current list of his medications, the dosage he takes including time of day and other pertinent information. Why can’t they take the time to consider what works and what isn’t going to work before they prescribe something that’s clearly going to interact badly with something he’s already taking. Since we last wrote I’ve been dealing with a poisoning episode caused by his physicians [not mental health but medical physicians], a cellulitis infection in his left foot that refuses to heal and is so painful he can’t stand to walk and all the doctors want to do is continue to throw antibiotics at him and the list goes on. I have lots to blog about when I return to the world of blogging. I know I owe you an answer to your e-mail, my friend. I enjoy exchaning messages with you. Please stick with me and I’ll get there, eventually.

    Reply
  2. Laiyla Lane

    I have to have a medical review and my driving license renewed every 3 years due to the medications in take for my Bipolar Disorder

    Reply

Leave a Reply

