I’m trying my very best to get this hurdle jumped …


From someone who has a mental illness:I know you might not think so but I’m really trying  hard. I don’t do it on purpose. I didn’t pick this card. I’m doing my very best to get this hurdle jumped. But no one else is there to get me out this slump. I don’t know what you want from me. Give me a hint, a clue. Please give me a sign. Show me what to do.  If you only knew how much I struggle in this war, maybe someone would be there to raise me from the floor. it’s time to stop pretending; time to open your eyes – give me a hand instead of looks and sighs. It’s not that I don’t love you. It’s not that I don’t care. The fact is I ned help too. I need somebody there.

 

Something bothers me about the way mental illness is treated.

‘IF the treatment of some psychiatric illnesses is worse than the disease itself, it could be said that the treatment is dubious to begin with. If some psychiatrists are actually harming the very people they claim to be assisting. Is this what legitimate medicine is about?’

Quoted from my son’s writings.

5 thoughts on “I’m trying my very best to get this hurdle jumped …

  1. The Philosophical Guy

    It is very great of you that you chose this topic and writing about it. I dont know whether its your personal experience or someone else’s. Mental illness is considered to be worse than a disease. Mentally ill person needa care and love and just a little help. Just a little help from everyone will help a mentally challenged person alot. Much more than we all can think. Just a little from everyone. All should do their bit. Mentally challenged people are the special people from the super gods. If they lack some senses, it doesnt mean that they have less. Instead they have may be some special senses which normal humans don’t. And giving it a right direction can make them another Einstiens , or walt disney or any other great personality.
    Spread smiles and Retain humanity.
    Cheers .
    Peace.

    Reply
    1. Jill Post author

      Hi, this is my son’s story and I am trying my best to help lessen the blame, shame, stigma and discrimination associated with brain illnesses. I have written books, articles and blogs on the subject; spoken at international conferences and run a support group for parents of mentally challenged people. We HAVE to talk about it. Feel free to mail me anytime.
      All the best,
      Jill

      Reply
      1. The Philosophical Guy

        Hey jill
        I feel happy to be discussing these thinga with you. This world needa rebels like you. People like you are rare. I have joined this blogging site just to help people and inspire people to live a better life and to do my bit to retain humanity in this world. I am glad that you wrote books, articles and blogs on this topic. This topic needs care and people needs to understand the things related to it. I will be very happy to help you in any way. I want to join you in this thing. I believe that we can change things. We humans have natural power inside us which can change things if we want. I really appreciate your efforts. 🙂

        Reply
        1. Jill Post author

          Hi,
          How about starting a blog to address the fact that by not speaking out, people make a mentally challenged person feel worse than ever. Help me please.
          Jill

          Reply

Leave a Reply

