Do you scan the obituaries and feel jealous of the dead?


SERENADE 2 SENIORS

ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE swans in love 3

Do you wake up every morning, find it hard to lift your head?

Do you scan the obituaries and feel jealous of the dead?

It’s like living on a cliff side never knowing when you’ll dive

I feel a sort of buzzing like bees make in a hive.

 

Imagine how it feels to see the world that once was clear

That goes from white to gray then black, tomorrow’s filled with fear.

I do my best to make each day as pleasant as I can

And keep myself as busy as any other man.

 

There’s a sensation that I’m screaming yet I never make a sound,

Or the feeling that I’m falling yet I never hit the ground.

It keeps on rushing at me, day by day by day

Can you imagine what it’s like to have to live this way?

 

I know my wife is hurting but she doesn’t let it show

Her smile covers her feelings and she continues with the flow.

                                                                                      alzheimer's 1

My late husband imparted the above over a period of time before he was unable to describe his feelings or speak much and I jotted it all down and then turned it into the above.

2 thoughts on “Do you scan the obituaries and feel jealous of the dead?

  1. dementedgirl

    That is a great poem – I have my own website for dementia / caregiving poetry so I am always glad to read someone else’s. Yes I feel jealous of obituaries and admit the day, when it comes for mum-in-law will come as a relief… Whether it will for her or not is another matter! 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment